State News

2017 SA Off Road Championship - Round 1 Wrap
/ Categories: State News, Enduro News

2017 SA Off Road Championship - Round 1 Wrap

What a way to start the series!!

If the first round of this years 2017 SA Off Road Championships is a sample of what is to come, 2017 is going to be a ripper!!


This years SAORC round 1 was hosted by Juventus MCC in the evergreen Mt Crawford pine plantations about 40 mins North East of Adelaide. The weather gods at this time of the year can be a little unpredictable, but luck was upon us. A touch of rain during the week delivering pure pine forest enduro nirvana.


Saturday afternoon gave us a little insight to just how much the SAORC has grown with over 100 of the 240 competitors taking an opportunity to walk the tracks, and pass their bikes scrutineering, and set up their pit area ready for Sunday. For the record this was the biggest entry at a single SAORC only round for at least 20 years, 30% of the field as juniors.


Sunday morning saw the remainder of the competitors roll in braving the chilly air to pass through administration and scrutineering.  While the local CFS catering crew teased competitors with the smell of bacon, eggs, and coffee wafting across the pits, the hopes of many aspiring young and not so young competitors were on display as nerves started to build before the start of the series.


2017 KTM Junior South Australian Off Road Championship

The juniors started with the KTM test in the morning and switched to the Earthworx test for the afternoon.
Congratulations to the competitors below for finishing in the top three of their respective classes.

1. Sheidow Cooper
2. Connor Adams
3. Tate Plummer


1. Jayden Rudd
2. Jared Watson
3. Max Price


1. Maxwell Leibeknecht
2. Lachlan Schultz
3. Harry Newbold


1. Oliver Pitchford
2. Elijah Spencer
3. Harrison Spencer

1. Seth Carpenter
2. Thomas Lambert
3. Jackson Versteegen


2017 Total Earthworx Senior South Australian Championship

Congratulations to the competitors below for finishing in the top three of their respective classes.

1. Riley Graham
2. Andrew Wilksch
3. Todd Barry

1. Mitchell Norris
2. Dale Watson
3. Rick Ireland

1. Tegan Hall
2. Amy Bartsch
3. Brodia Hoflehner

1. Ryley Mullan
2. Alexander Hage
3. Mitchell Simpson

1. Tom Devries
2. Steven Browne
3. Zac Gray

1. Benjamin Prior
2. Luke Magee
3. Mitchell McCallum

1. Rowan Pumpa
2. Anthony Greene
3. Leigh Bentley

1. Craig Hage
2. Michael Widdison
3. Adrian Fitzgerald



If you missed round 1 you certainly missed something special. Yes there were a few growing pains obvious on the day, but all feedback after the event was extremely positive. These events don't come together with out the help of many volunteers. The Juventus MCC would like to thank all club members and friends who came and helped through the day.


In particular the club would like to thank the following people:

- Those club members and friends who helped with backup timekeeping all day
- Gerry Jongebloed and Chris Richardson for setting the course
- Paul Collins as Race Secretary
- Alan Tassel as Clerk of Course
- Shane Parker and his sweep crew
- CFS crew for supplying catering
- Owen and Kathryn Rothe - for filling all the gaps
- the two parents Mark & Leanne Poker and a Grandpa John Mieglich who stepped up and helped marshal the juniors in the afternoon-  brilliant.
- the timing guys, Daniel and Ben
- Forestry SA (ranger) for working with JMCC to manage the event.


Supplied by the Juventus MCC

Previous Article Rider Race Report - Levi Day - 2017 Round 3 Ducati Tri Options Cup - Oulton Park
Next Article 2017 SA Off Road Championship - Round 2 - Competitor Information